LIST: My 20 Favorite Songs of 2014

All year, I keep track of my favorite music and now that it’s mid-December, I’m ready to share with you what made the cut for my favorites of the year. Next week I’ll unveil my 20 favorite albums of 2014, followed by a retrospective on the best music of the first five years of the 2010s, likely to appear here closer to New Year’s.

I start with my 20 favorite songs of 2014, which wasn’t the greatest year for new music in recent memory but certainly had many terrific contributions from artists old and new. I’m presenting the cream of the crop below with 20 great songs, via YouTube clips below. I wrote about many of these songs in my mid-year top 10, so I’ll reserve further long-form thoughts for my albums post.

I slightly altered my criteria for the list this year, considering songs that had any kind of release (be it on a single or an album) in 2014. And, as always, I only included one song per artist to ensure no one artist dominated the list.

Lastly, I created a YouTube playlist of these songs and a Spotify playlist here and at the bottom for your listening pleasure (don’t be thrown off by the numbers next to each song on the playlists, it’s meant to be listened to as a 20-1 countdown).

Enjoy the list and stay tuned for my albums post next week.

20. KENDRICK LAMAR – “i”

19. PARQUET COURTS – “WHAT COLOR IS BLOOD”

18. LAKE STREET DIVE – “RABID ANIMAL”

17. EAGULLS – “TOUGH LUCK”

16. SLEATER-KINNEY – “BURY OUR FRIENDS”

15. ST. VINCENT – “REGRET”

14. JACK WHITE – “LAZARETTO”

13. ARIEL PINK – “PUT YOUR NUMBER IN MY PHONE”

12. DUM DUM GIRLS – “ARE YOU OKAY?”

11. EX HEX – “HOT AND COLD”

10. SUN KIL MOON – “CARISSA”

9. THE BLACK KEYS – “GOTTA GET AWAY”

8. CYMBALS – “EROSION”

7. BOMBAY BICYCLE CLUB – “LUNA”

6. FUTURE ISLANDS – “SEASONS (WAITING ON YOU)”

5. SPOON – “DO YOU”

4. TV ON THE RADIO – “COULD YOU”

3. THE WAR ON DRUGS – “BURNING”

2. THE PAINS OF BEING PURE AT HEART – “BEAUTIFUL YOU”

1. REAL ESTATE – “CRIME”

Leave a Reply

