LIST: My 20 Favorite Songs of 2013

I spend all year keeping track of my favorite new music and with year-end comes my year-end lists. I’ve added a few new wrinkles this year, including a new post coming early next week, before I unveil my top 20 albums of what was an absolutely stellar year of new music.

But first, I present my top 20 favorite songs of 2013. Because I wrote about many of these songs at the midpoint of the year and I’d rather save my long-form thoughts now to the aforementioned albums list, I’m keeping this to just the songs themselves with imbedded YouTube clips.

In addition this year, I’ve created a YouTube playlist of these 20 songs, starting with number 20 counting down to number 1. It’s a pretty damn good playlist so you should probably listen to it.

My criteria: The songs must have been originally released during the calendar year of 2013 and to ensure no domination by a few artists, I allow just one song per artist/band.

Enjoy the list and stay tuned for my special post next week as well as my top 20 albums coming up after Christmas.

20. UNKNOWN MORTAL ORCHESTRA – “ONE AT A TIME”

19. JOHN MAYER – “WILDFIRE”

18. JANELLE MONAE – “Q.U.E.E.N.” (FT. ERYKAH BADU)

17. PHOENIX – “TRYING TO BE COOL”

16. KINGS OF LEON – “WAIT FOR ME”

15. WASHED OUT – “DON’T GIVE UP”

14. SMITH WESTERNS – “VARSITY”

13. BEST COAST – “FEAR OF MY IDENTITY”

12. VAMPIRE WEEKEND – “HANNAH HUNT”

11. JIMMY EAT WORLD – “NO, NEVER”

10. CHVRCHES – “SCIENCE/VISIONS”

9. ARCADE FIRE – “REFLEKTOR”

8. FOALS – “BAD HABIT”

7. ARCTIC MONKEYS – “ARABELLA”

6. LOCAL NATIVES – “COLOMBIA”

5. MY BLOODY VALENTINE – “SHE FOUND NOW”

4. HAIM – “FALLING”

3. CUT COPY – “FREE YOUR MIND”

2. THE NATIONAL – “SEA OF LOVE”

1. CYMBALS – “THE NATURAL WORLD”

Leave a Reply

