LIST: My 20 Favorite Songs of 2012

I spend all year keeping track of my favorite new music and with year-end comes my year-end lists. Last year I kept my year-end list of favorite songs to my Twitter account but this year I’m sharing my choices here on the blog.

Because I wrote about several of these at the midway point of 2012 and because I’d rather save my long-form thoughts on the year in music for my favorite albums post, I’m keeping this to just the songs themselves with imbedded YouTube clips.

My criteria: The songs must have been released in some way during the calendar year of 2012 and to ensure no domination by a few artists, I allow just one song per artist/band.

Hope you enjoy, thanks for reading, and stay tuned for my favorite albums of 2012 post coming later this month.

20. JACK WHITE – “SIXTEEN SALTINES”

19. DAVE MATTHEWS BAND – “BELLY BELLY NICE”

18. SLEIGH BELLS – “COMEBACK KID”

17. DIVINE FITS – “WOULD THAT NOT BE NICE”

16. ARCTIC MONKEYS – “R U MINE?”

15. TEAR TALK – “SLEEPWALKING”

14. CHROMATICS – “KILL FOR LOVE”

13. TAME IMPALA – “APOCALYPSE DREAMS”

12. HOT CHIP – “FLUTES”

11. DUM DUM GIRLS – “SEASON IN HELL”

10. JAPANDROIDS – “THE NIGHTS OF WINE AND ROSES”

9. TWO DOOR CINEMA CLUB – “SLEEP ALONE”

8. GRIZZLY BEAR – “YET AGAIN”

7. FRANK OCEAN – “SWEET LIFE”

6. THE KILLERS – “RUNAWAYS”

5. JOHN MAYER – “A FACE TO CALL HOME”

4. THE SHINS – “SIMPLE SONG”

3. PASSION PIT – “IT’S NOT MY FAULT, I’M HAPPY”

2. BEACH HOUSE – “LAZULI”

1. WILD NOTHING – “NOCTURNE”

Leave a Reply

