From Jake’s Mind Opens

This happened while I was away.

And so I begin again.

From January 2005 (my senior year of high school) until April 2010 (shortly after I began my career as a professional journalist), I was a blogger. I felt like I was ahead of the curve when I started, writing on a variety of topics that mostly only my AIM friends could see. By the time I gave it up, I was a blip on the radar screen, one faceless writer out of millions with the ability to write on any of a zillion topics.

I gave up because I didn’t feel like writing for fun anymore. What I was writing for my job was so alien from the types of things I did in my spare time that doing the latter just didn’t make sense. Not when I could get out most of what I wanted to say in 140-character tweets and, as I began last fall, by literally just saying it instead of writing it.

I didn’t go away. I didn’t stop writing. I just stopped doing it in a way I always had. And now, with some inspiration and new-found purpose, I’m ready to come back to this form of expression.

I don’t know how much I’ll write in this space. I don’t know if it will be more than once a month. Or once a year. Obligations might keep me away. Either way, From Jake’s Mind is going exist and it’s going to be there when I need it.

Unlike my old blogs, which focused on one topic, this will be a free-for-all for all my interests. You’ll see me here after a Red Sox game or after the Bruins sign someone to help them defend their Stanley Cup title. I’ll come here after I hear a great album or go see an excellent movie. I’ll be here when something pops in my head that prompts me to create a list (you know I love lists).

Again, I don’t know what this is going to become. All I can tell you is, it will be from my mind. And isn’t that enough to keep you coming back?

Let’s do this. Again.

One thought on “From Jake’s Mind Opens

Leave a Reply

